Indonesia’s coffee golden triangle: Bengkulu-Lampung-South Sumatra

A cup of coffee and coffee beans. (Photo by Michael C on Unsplash)

Jakarta (Indonesia Window) – Every region in Indonesia produces coffee with distinctive flavors.

According to the Directorate General of Small, Medium and Various Industries (IKMA) of the Ministry of Trade, there are 13 coffee production centers in the country, namely, Aceh, West Sumatra, Riau Islands, Jambi, Bengkulu, Lampung, Central Java, Bali, West Nusa Tenggara, Nusa East Southeast, South Sulawesi, West Sulawesi and Papua.


Of the 13 regions, Bengkulu, Lampung and South Sumatra constitute the golden triangle of coffee on the island of Sumatra, especially the robusta coffee.

Coffee plantations in Bengkulu are cultivated by 66,999 farmers in 10 districts and cities. Of these farmers, 64,632 are robusta coffee growers with production reaching 55,168.9 tons (as of 2016).

Meanwhile, Arabica coffee farmers total 2,367 with a production of 1,506 tons per year.


With this coffee potential, the Bengkulu Provincial Government plans to hold a World Coffee Conference which will be held in October 2020.

At present, there are 146 coffee business owners belonging to the small-medium scaled industry sector in Bengkulu.

Reporting by Indonesia Window


Tinggalkan Komentar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *